General Election advice with a week to go

SKDC Press Release

With only days remaining until polls open for the 2024 General Election, South Kesteven District Council is reminding voters on how and where they can vote.

On Thursday 4th July, eight candidates will contest the Grantham and Bourne parliamentary seat.

Those registered to vote will already have received a polling card in the post, which gives details of the polling station assigned to them. The polling card is not required to be able to vote, but it can speed up the process.

All voters need to have photographic voter identification to show on arrival at their polling station and will not be issued with a ballot paper unless they present an accepted form of ID. A full list can be found online at:

Polling hours are from 7am to 10pm. Counting the votes will begin after the polls close, with the result posted on SKDC social media at and

Those voting by post are advised to use Royal Mail via a normal postbox so that the vote is received by July 4th.

There are new rules for returning a postal vote by hand. These can no longer be posted in the

Council office letter box. Votes for the Grantham and Bourne constituency must be handed to an authorised officer at the main Council office in Grantham during office hours or at a polling station on election day before 10pm.

Acting Returning Officer and SKDC Chief Executive Karen Bradford said: “Polling is administered by the SKDC elections team, who ensure voting is carried out fairly and in accordance with legislation.

“Polling station staff are there to help and to answer any questions you may have. Please be patient while they check photo ID.”

The eight candidates for the Grantham and Bourne constituency in the July 2024 General Election are:

  • Vipul Arvind BECHAR: Labour Party
  • Gareth Mark DAVIES: The Conservative Party Candidate
  • Anne Elizabeth GAYFER: Green Party
  • Alexander Leslie MITCHELL: Social Democratic Party
  • Charmaine Dawn MORGAN: Lincolnshire Independents
  • Mike RUDKIN: Reform UK
  • Ian Edward SELBY: Independent
  • John William VINCENT: Liberal Democrats

More information at

Information on neighbouring constituencies, which still fall within the South Kesteven District, can be found at

Further changes to previous elections include:

  • Residents may only hand in their own postal vote and the postal votes of up to five other people at a polling station or the council’s office

Campaigners can only hand in their own postal vote and postal votes for up to five other people who are either close relatives or someone they regularly care for