Parliamentary General Election – 4 July 2024

The Parliamentary General election will be held on Thursday 4 July 2024

Key dates for the General election

  • Nomination of Candidates: prospective candidates can submit nomination papers between Tuesday 4 June to Friday 7 June 2024 (10am to 4pm)
  • Register to vote: deadline – midnight on Tuesday 18 June 2024
  • Apply to vote by post: deadline – 5pm on Wednesday 19 June 2024 (this deadline is also for cancellations and amendments of all  current postal and proxy votes)
  • Apply to vote by proxy: deadline – 5pm on Wednesday 26 June 2024
  • Apply for a Voter Authority Certificate: deadline – 5pm on 26 June 2024
  • Polling day: 7am to 10pm on Thursday 4 July 2024

For the UK Parliamentary election, the country is divided into electoral areas called constituencies.  Each constituency has its own MP.  Constituency boundaries in the UK have changed – a new set of boundaries for Westminster constituencies will be used at the 2024 UK general election.  The South Kesteven area is made up of three Parliamentary Constituencies:

  • Grantham and Bourne Constituency
  • Rutland and Stamford Constituency
  • South Holland and the Deepings Constituency

Details of which areas of South Kesteven fall within which constituency can be viewed here.

The Acting Returning Officer of South Kesteven District Council is responsible for the election for the Grantham and Bourne Constituency

The Rutland and Stamford Constituency is managed by Rutland County Council and further information can be found on their website General election 2024 | Rutland County Council.  

The South Holland and the Deepings Constituency is organised by South Holland District Council and further information can be found on their website Parliamentary Elections – South Holland District Council (

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *